Buckle up, friends.
Here are four ways to keep a phone number safe in your NumberBarn account.
1. Use the Transfer Lock.
The transfer lock is a “freeze” on a number to prevent porting your number away from NumberBarn to a new service provider. This is relevant when you do not want to port your number away. If the transfer lock is enabled, NumberBarn will work to reject the port out request, even if all supplied credentials are correct. By default, this setting is disabled.
Transfer Lock is offered as a courtesy and is NOT guaranteed. We use commercially reasonable efforts to block port-outs when the Transfer Lock feature is enabled. Telephone numbers may port-out due to legal action, regulatory requirements, slamming, carrier policy or decision, or due to other circumstances beyond our control.
To enable or disable the transfer lock, follow these instructions:
- Login to your account
- Select Numbers from the navigation bar
- Select on your number
- Select Options
- Select Transfer Lock
- Save your changes
NOTE: Not all phone numbers will have the transfer lock option.
The transfer lock must be disabled in order for your number to move from one provider to another. If you enable the transfer lock and request a port away, your port might be rejected. Please disable the transfer lock, allow 24 hours for the setting to complete and then resubmit your transfer request with your new provider.
2. Keep your account login information private
Double check that no one else has your login information. And, keep it secure. A password of “abc123” isn’t the smartest option. Need help creating a secure password?
Check out the Strong Random Password Generator.
Why is keeping your account login information private a way to keep your number safe?
Phone number ports happen when the information matches what is on file in your NumberBarn account.
If the information does not match, your port request will be rejected and your number will remain with NumberBarn.
3. Don’t delete your number – unless you really mean it
Accidents happen! Deleting a number isn’t the end of the world, if you catch it quickly. If this happens, contact our customer support immediately.
If a phone number is deleted and remains in an inactive status for over 30 business days, there’s a chance that we will not be able to restore it for you.
When a phone number is deleted from your account, it is placed in a holding status with our carrier. This time frame can vary from 30 days to 90 days.
If the number is not restored, it will be released back into the database with our carrier.
This means that the number may not be available to restore in your NumberBarn account. We’ll do our best to help get the number back, but in some cases, we’re unable to do so.
4. Pay your bill
Seems pretty self-explanatory, right? Pay your bill, keep your number.
Your monthly service plan is deducted automatically from your payment method on file.
In the event your payment method is declined, we notify you multiple times via the email address on file in your account.
If your account is deactivated for 30 days, your numbers are deleted.
See #3 above for more about what happens when a number is deleted.
So take our advice and fasten that safety belt – keep that number safe!